Current View
Blighty Attar
Blighty Attar
$ 7+ shipping charges

Book Description

In the tradition of Urdu and Hindi poetry, many poets have created literature relying on the close interrelation between the two languages, which subsequently became the cornerstone of their literary works. In their respective times, through their poetry, they formed bridges between languages and cultures, and in a simpler language and style, instilled a new sense of aesthetics amongst a large section of the society. Kabir, Nazir, Galib, Faiz and Ibne Insha were such poets in India, whose legacy the author appears to be carrying forward in this collection of Urdu poetry which has been written in Hindi and translated in English as well.The author’s language has precision and sharpness which also encapsulates the contemporary culture of the northern plains of India where the three languages—Urdu, Hindi and English—form the bulk of common day conversation. The language touches the heart on the one hand and strikes hard on the mundane on the other. Love and loneliness have been beautifully used as symbols to delicately touch upon the sensitive aspects of the human life and the society at large. It’s a must read for those Hindi and English readers who would like to have a glimpse into the poetic culture of the northern plains of modern India through the simplified prism of the rich Urdu language.